top of page

21st Century Skills

I think I have improved my networking skills these past two weeks. I have been pushed outside of my comfort zone to talk to professionals experienced in both insects and nanotechnology. I have communicated over both email and the phone which has challenged me to keep up with my emails, something I previously struggled to do. In addition, I have improved my technological skills. I have the basis for my website and I am planning on entering more information this week. I’ve never had to build a website around such an extensive project so I am looking forward to customizing this site both for myself and for the audience.

Today it is important to be able to make connections in order to reach goals. It is impossible to achieve anything without the help and support of others. It is also important to make these connections using technology. It is extremely easy to find and maintain relationships through email. Networking previously seemed impossible to me because I had always gotten the impression that people did not take high school students seriously. I have found this to be the complete opposite. Adults are impressed with a student who knows what they want and can advocate for themselves.It is also essential to have an online presence and have the skills to use technology to your advantage.


bottom of page