top of page

Searching

This week I focused on my materials. I am still in need of cicada wings, lotus plants, and shark skin. The shark skin and bacteria have all already been ordered through Carolina Biological. The cicada wings have been harder to come by. Although it is common for them to die off at this time of year, it is hard to find them among the newly fallen leaves. I am awaiting a follow up email from the entomologist at Peabody to find out of she was able to find any herself. The shark is scheduled to come in the next week or two.

Tree Land Garden Center did not have lotus plants, I plan to contact Cooper Mulch & More as well as a wholesale grower from Pond Mega Store. I learned that it is possible to grow lotus plants outside of an aquatic setting. This will be helpful in case I have to grow or sustain the plants myself. I plan to continue looking for lotus plants and cicadas so I can have all of my materials by mid October.


bottom of page