top of page

Momentum

This week I focused on gathering my resources. I have decided to use seven cicada wings from the local environment and get the other eight from the Peabody Museum's educational collection. The preserved dogfish shark came in the mail yesterday! I am still searching for lotus leaves, as they just went out of season. I am now looking to the Beardsley zoo, New York botanical gardens, and even aquarium supply stores for mature lotus plants. I was also informed that the Scanning Electron microscope at my school has a cool stage chamber component I can use to freeze and view my samples without disturbing the bio film or harming the microscope. I will no longer need to use the inverted microscope.Both the faculty and I at Fairchild Wheeler are more comfortable and experienced with the SEM.

I gave my proposal from Capstone 1 to a perspective mentor and await her response. She is a professor at the University of Bridgeport with expertise in nanotechnologies. She is familiar with the use f nanotechnology for biological and medical purposes.I believe my project is gaining momentum as we move further into October. I plan to do everything I can to complete the experiment in a timely fashion. I will continue to network and work out problems as the weeks progress.


bottom of page